Canada Limits Travel from Southern Africa Region

Published on: November 29th, 2021

On November 26, 2021, the Canadian government implemented a travel ban for foreign nationals coming from the Southern Africa region.

Foreign nationals who have been to one of the following countries within the previous 14 days will not be permitted entry to Canada.

  • Botswana
  • Egypt;
  • Eswatini;
  • Lesotho;
  • Malawi;
  • Mozambique;
  • Namibia;
  • Nigeria;
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe

The ban will remain in place until January 21, 2022.

The public health measure comes shortly after the discovery of the new COVID-19 Omicron variant. The new variant has been designated a ‘variant of concern’ by the World Health Organization (WHO). While Omicron was first detected in South Africa, cases have since been identified in Botswana, Belgium, Hong Kong, Israel, Australia, Denmark, the Netherlands, and Canada.

Canadian citizens and permanent residents are permitted to return to Canada by passing through a third country, where they must take a COVID-19 molecular test.

Travelling to Canada during the pandemic

Canada is currently open to eligible fully vaccinated tourists arriving from all other countries provided that a negative COVID-19 molecular test and qualifying proof of vaccination are submitted to the government. All travellers must submit this information, along with other personal and travel details, in advance through ArriveCAN, via the mobile or web application.

Eligible fully vaccinated travellers are also exempted from the quarantine requirement. However, all travellers must prepare a quarantine plan in case they do not meet all requirements currently in place.

Some travellers that are not considered fully vaccinated may be eligible to travel to Canada for essential reasons.


Interested in learning more about your Canadian immigration options? Complete our free online assessment today!

Free assessment
Free assessment

Discover your Canadian immigration options. Get your free assessment now!